Current Ph.D Students

Ao Li (co-advised with Rohan Padhye)
Brian Singer (co-advised with Lujo Bauer)
Rahul Sharma (co-advised with Anthony Rowe)
Milind Srivastava
Yucheng Yin


Kittipat Apicharttrisorn (Patrick)
Zinan Lin (co-advised with Giulia Fanti)
Aqsa Kashaf (co-advised with Yuvraj Agarwal)
Hun Namkung (co-advised with Peter Steenkiste)
Maria Apostolaki Postdoc, now Princeton
Dimitrios-Georgios Akestoridis coadvised with Patrick Tague, Google
Antonis Manousis Meta
Daehyeok Kim (co-advised with Srini Seshan), Microsoft
Sekar Kulandaivel Locomation
Guyue (Grace) Liu Faculty at NYU-Shanghai
Matthew Mccormack USAF TPS
Alan (Zaoxing) Liu with Minlan Yu now at Boston University
Soo Jin Moon Google
Tianlong Yu (co-advised with Srini Seshan) at Palo Alto Networks
Athula Balachandran, (co-advised with Srini Seshan), Google
Zafar Ayyub Qazi, (co-advised with Samir Das), Faculty at LUMS
Seyed Kaveh Fayazbakhsh , ECE, Microsoft
Junchen Jiang, CSD (co-advised with Hui Zhang), Faculty at University of Chicago
Yifei Yuan with Limin Jia,
Jeffrey Helt (CS MS), PhD student at Princeton
Luis Chiang (MS CS Stonybrook)
Yoshiaki Tobioka (MS INI CMU)
Rahul Muthooo (INI CMU)
Tushar Sharma (ECE CMU)
Roy Ragsdale (MS ECE)
Carolina Zarate (INI MS, Outstanding TA Award Winner), DoD
Sanjay Chandrasekaran (CS MS), Phd Student at UCSB
Mingran Yang (INI MS, Outstanding Research Award Winner), Phd Student at MIT
Joe Severini MS, CS


I have worked/also work closely with:
Victor Heorhiadi (UNC, advised by Mike Reiter)
Min Suk Kang (CMU, Advised by Virgil Gligor)
Xiaoqi Yin (CMU, Advised by Bruno Sinopoli)

Selected research awards and honors

IRTF Applied Networking Research Prize 2021
IMC 2020 Best paper award finalist
Plenary talk at ACM STOC 2018 TheoryFest
NSA Best Scientific Cybersecurity Paper Competition 2016
Best paper award at ACM SIGCOMM 2012
Best paper award at ACM CoNext 2013
Best paper award (systems track) at ACM Multimedia 2009
Best paper award finalist at ACM IMC 2020, ACM SIGCOMM 2013, ACM IMC 2014, ACM CoNext 2014
2nd place in CSAW Applied Security Research Competition 2015
CSAW Applied Security Research Competition Finalist 2016
Papers fast-tracked to IEEE Transactions of Networking from ACM CoNext 2012, ACM CoNext 2013
Invited paper to Communications of ACM Research Highlights
Qualcomm Innovation Finalist

Selected student awards and honors

Microsoft Research Fellowship (Daehyeok Kim)
Symantec Research Fellowship (Tianlong Yu)
INI Outstanding Research Award (Mingran Yang)
Cylab Presidential Fellowship (Zinan Lin)
Siemens Fellowship (Zinan Lin)
EECS Rising Stars (Soo-jin Moon)
INI Outstanding Research Award (Carolina Zarate)
CMU SCS Dissertation Award (Junchen Jiang)
Bertucci Fellowship (Seyed Fayaz)
VMWare Fellowship (Seyed Fayaz)
Samsung Fellowship Finalist (Tianlong Yu)
Frank J. Marshall Graduate Fellowship (Antonis Manousis)
Symantec Fellowship (Tianlong Yu)