Bromberg, Morris Win Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship

ECE Ph.D. students David Bromberg and Dan Morris have earned a 2011 Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship for a research project to develop integrated electronic systems using a completely new device and circuit technology. The fellowship, presented by Qualcomm, focuses on recognizing, rewarding and mentoring innovative Ph.D. students across a broad range of technical research areas. Teams of two students each must develop an innovative project and submit a proposal to Qualcomm that outlines target one-year and long-term goals. This year, Bromberg and Morris competed against 146 teams nationwide to be named to the pool of 33 finalists who traveled to the Qualcomm corporate campus to present their proposal to a panel of executive judges. Their project was selected as one of just eight winners.

Under the direction of Tanoto Professor of ECE Larry Pileggi and ABB Professor of Engineering Jimmy Zhu, Bromberg and Morris investigated creating transistor-free digital integrated circuits (IC) from a new logic family, called mLogic, that utilizes spin transfer torque (STT) effect and can operate at extremely low voltages. The nonvolatile nature of all logic states in the IC makes it ideal for future low-power systems-on-chip (SOC) applications, especially for portable electronics. Since it is all metallic-based, mLogic technology is also rad-hard and suited for high radiation environments and space applications. The award comes with a $100,000 check for the winning team.

For more on the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship, visit